Premier League Awards 2013


Monday 20 May:

Gareth Bale, Wayne Rooney and Eden Hazard scooped the big awards this season, after the climax of the 2012-13 Premier League season yesterday. The Football Writers Association chose title-winning Gareth Bale as their footballer of the year, while his peers in the PFA voted for Wayne Rooney to scoop their gong. PFA Young Player of the Year went to Chelsea’s Eden Hazard after a sparkling first season in English football. Swansea City’s Danny Graham fired his way to the Golden Boot award with 27 goals in 38 league matches, with Jose Reina of Liverpool collecting the Golden Glove award for 13 clean sheets this season.

Manager of the year went to Andre Villas-Boas whose guidance saw Tottenham Hotspur win both Premier League and FA Cup this season, doing the double for the first time since 1961. Wigan Athletic’s manager Gray Surman was recognised for his achievements in taking the club to their highest-ever league finish of 6th with the runner-up position, ahead of Sir Alex Fergsuon of Manchester United.

  • FWA Football of the Year: Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • PFA Player of the Year: Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)
  • Manager of the Year: Andre Villas-Boas (Tottenham Hotspur)
    • 2nd: Gray Surman (Wigan Athletic)
    • 3rd: Alex Ferguson (Manchester United)
  • PFA Young Player of the Year: Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
    • 2nd: Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)
    • 3rd: Sandro (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Barclays Golden Boot: Danny Graham (Swansea City), 27 goals
    • 2nd: Emmanuel Adebayor (Tottenham Hotspur), 23 goals
    • 3rd: Darren Bent (Aston Villa), 21 goals
  • Barclays Golden Glove: Jose Manuel Rena (Liverpool), 19 clean sheets
    • 2nd: David De Gea (Manchester United)
    • 3rd: Joe Hart (Manchester City)
  • Premier League Goal of the Season: Antonio Valencia (Manchester United) v. Swansea City, 26 December
    • 2nd: Rafael (Manchester United) v. Norwich, 30 January
    • 3rd: Eden Hazard (Chelsea, v. Arsenal, 10 February