[DD] Burnley Back In Top Flight

Monday 27 May:

Burnley beat Hull City 2-1 in a thrilling match at Wembley in the Football League Championship Playoff Final to join Wolverhampton Wanderers and Blackburn Rovers in the Premier League next season. Hull made a disastrous start to the match, conceding inside three minutes when Joe Dudgeon mistakenly bundled the ball into his own net after Charlie Austin’s header came back off the inside of the post. Austin doubled the Burnley lead seven minutes after the break before a smashing finish from Ahmed Elmohamady pulled one back for Hull, but Burnley held out to claim the place in the top flight.


Promoted Relegated
Premier League  – Queens Park Rangers
Norwich City
FL Championship Wolverhampton Wanderers
Blackburn Rovers
Bristol City
FL League One Notts County
Preston North End
Swindon Town
Crawley Town
Coventry City
Crewe Alexandra
Hartlepool United
FL League Two Chesterfield
Wycombe Wanderers
Bradford City
Rotherham United
Dagenham & Redbridge
Conference Premier Mansfield Town
Alfreton Town
Nuneaton Town
Ebbsfleet United
Conference North Altrincham
Brackley Town
Vauxhall Motors
Corby Town
Hinckley United
Conference South Hayes & Yeading
Dover Athletic
Farnborough Town
Dorchester Town
Truro City

Managerial Updates:

Wigan Athletic manager GS has left the DW Stadium for Borussia Dortmund after the parties involved agreed upon contract and compensation terms. Surman guided Wigan Athletic to their highest ever league finish of 6th this season, and a place in the playoff stage of the Europa League. Surman has been given a four-year contract at Signal Iduna Park where Dortmund were looking to replace Jurgen Klopp who left for the vacant Liverpool position. Alan Pardew has been installed as the bookies’ early favourite.

Conference North side Colwyn Bay have announced Phil Gilchrist as the new man in charge.

Managerial Vacancies:

  • Atalanta (18th, Serie A) [Relegated]
  • Augsburg (17th, Bundesliga) [R]
  • Falkirk (4th, Scottish First Division)
  • Fleetwood Town (21st, League Two)
  • Olympique Lyonnais (5th, Ligue 1)
  • Sampdoria (20th, Serie A) [R]
  • Siena (19th, Serie A) [R]
  • Stenhousemuir (9th, Scottish Second Division) [R]
  • Wigan Athletic (6th, Premier League)