Dortmund Unveil GS

borussia-dortmund-540Tuesday 28 May:

A press conference has been called at Signal Iduna Park to officially introduce Gray Surman to the media as the new manager of Borussia Dortmund after he signed a four-year deal to take him to the German club from Wigan Athletic.

German Football Gazette: You sit here as the new manager of Dortmund. Is this your dream job?

I am absolutely delighted to be hired, it really is a dream come true.

GFG: How involved do you intend to be in the day-to-day running of the club?

I like to be involved as much as time allows me to be.

German Football Express: What would you say is your tactical approach to the game?

I like attractive football and that is what I will be encouraging.

German Football Daily: As far as your backroom staff go, will you be bringing in your own people or will the likes of Wolfgang De Beer and Zeljko Buvac be staying at the club?

The backroom staff here are part of a fantastic setup and it would be foolish to disrupt that.

Dortmund Football Daily: You have taken charge when it is widely expected that Neven Subotic will leave the club. Can you hold onto him? Do you want to?

Ideally, I would like to keep Neven around, but I know that may not be possible. I’m sure we’ll be having a one-to-one meeting very soon.

DFD: This is a big step up for you, are you nervous about taking on the role?

I have confidence in my abilities to manage at this level.

DFD: Are you excited at the prospect of managing in Germany?

I had a bit of excitement, but now we’re firmly down to business.

German Football Review: The facilities at the club are fantastic, are you excited about the opportunity to work in such an environment?

I am absolutely delighted with the facilities, but it’s no less than I expected.

GFG: In leaving your previous job to take over at Dortmund, you disappointed a number of Wigan supporters. Do you regret that?

I understand why they felt that way, but ultimately I had to make the right decision for myself. Wigan is my childhood club, but I am 100% Dortmund now. Onwards and upwards.

GFD: New managers often bring about times of upheaval and some at the club might fear for their jobs. Will there be many changes?

There’s a good set-up here, with a high quality of players and staff. It is unlikely that I will make major changes.

