Europa League Groups Drawn


After the thirty-one Playoff second-leg ties were completed, the draw was made for the UEFA Europa League Group Stage. 89 goals were scored across the continent, six of them coming as Fürth won 4-2 in Cyprus at APOEL Nicosia to join their countrymen Werder Bremen (who beat Luzern 1-0 at home, 4-2 on aggregate). Freiburg failed to make it a wholly successful night for German clubs, losing 0-2 at Genk and bowing out 2-3 after the two legs.

Arouna Koné headed a 48th minute goal in-off the woodwork for Wigan Athletic in their 1-0 win over Karparty to progress 5-1 on aggregate. It was an awful night for Danish football as all four representatives suffered significant defeats and failed to qualify. The highest seeded club to falter at this stage was Standard Liege (14th), with the Belgians being beaten in extra-time at home by Guimaraes.


Playoff, Second Leg Results:

         AA Gent (BEL) 1-1, 1-4 agg Ajax (NED)
       Anorthosi (CYP) 0-1, 2-3 agg Maritimo (POR)
   APOEL Nicosia (CYP) 2-4, 2-5 agg Fürth (GER)
        Besiktas (TUR) 1-0, 1-2 agg Vorskla (UKR)
        CFR CLuj (ROU) 4-0, 5-3 agg SK Sturm Graz (AUT)
      CSKA Sofia (BUL) 2-2, 2-4 agg Haifa Tel-Aviv (ISR)
   Dinamo Moscow (RUS) 2-2, 2-3 agg Panathinaikos (GRE)
   Dinamo Tblisi (GEO) 0-3, 0-8 agg PAOK Salonika (GRE)
   FC Midtylland (DEN) 0-3, 0-5 agg CSKA Moscow (RUS)
FC Nordsjaelland (DEN) 2-3, 2-4 agg AZ Alkmaar (NED)
       FC Vaslui (ROU) 2-2, 3-3*agg Sheriff (MDA)
 FK Austria Wien (AUT) 1-2, 2-3 agg Vitesse Arnhem (NED)
            Genk (BEL) 2-0, 3-2 agg Freiburg (GER)
Girond. Bordeaux (FRA) 5-0, 8-1 agg Odens Boldklub (DEN)
   Helsinging JK (FIN) 0-2, 0-5 agg Metalist (UKR)
          Napoli (ITA) 2-0, 5-1 agg Aarhus GF (DEN)
         Omonoia (CYP) 1-4, 1-6 agg Everton (ENG)
   Real Sociedad (ESP) 2-0, 3-1 agg Sligo Rovers (IRL)
RedBull Salzburg (AUS) 0-1, 0-1 agg Evian TG FC (FRA)
            Roma (ITA) 2-0, 3-1 agg Olimpija (SVN)
       Rosenborg (NOR) 2-3, 2-5 agg Lokomotiv Moscow (RUS)
           Rudar (MNE) 1-2, 1-6 agg Anji (RUS)
           Slask (POL) 1-2, 1-7 agg Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)
  Standard Liege (BEL) 1-2, 2-3 agg Guimaraes (POR)
        Valencia (ESP) 2-0, 6-0 agg AE Limassol (CYP)
  Viktoria Plzen (CZE) 1-0, 1-2 agg Zeljeznicar (BIH)
       Vojvodina (SRB) 1-2, 1-5 agg Dnipro (UKR)
   Werder Bremen (GER) 1-0, 4-2 agg Luzern (SUI)
  Wigan Athletic (ENG) 1-0, 5-1 agg Karpaty (UKR)
    Wisla Krakow (POL) 1-2, 2-2*agg SV Mattersberg (AUT)
Young Boys Berne (SUI) 2-1, 4-1 agg Slovan Bratislava (SVK)

Top seeds Chelsea are in a tough Group E with Napoli, Fürth and Maritimo.  Champions Montpellier have been drawn in Group H alongside Wigan Athletic, AZ Alkmaar and Zeljeznicar.

The top two teams in each group progress to the First Knockout Round (24 clubs) to be joined by 8 Champions League clubs who finished 3rd in their groups.

Group A                        Group B
Metalist (UKR)                 Sporting Lisbon (POR)
Evian TG (FRA)                 Partizan Belgrade (SRB)
Real Sociedad (ESP)            Vitesse Arnhem (NED)
CSKA Moscow (RUS)              Steaua Bucharest (ROU)

Group C                        Group D
Sochaux (FRA)                  Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (UKR)
Braga (POR)                    Panathinaikos (GRE)
Everton (ENG)                  Ajax (NED)
Club Brugge (BEL)              Genk (BEL)

Group E                        Group F
Maritimo (POR)                 Bayer Leverkusen (GER)
Napoli (ITA)                   Legia Warsaw (POL)
Chelsea (ENG)                  Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)
Fürth (GER)                    Maccabi Haifa (ISR)

Group G                        Group H
Lokomotiv Moscow (RUS)         CFR Cluj (ROU)
AS Roma (ITA)                  Athletic Bilbao (ESP)
Vorskla Poltava (UKR)          PAOK Salonika (GRE)
VfB Stuttgart (GER)            Guimaraes (POR)

Group I                        Group J
Werder Bremen (GER)            Valencia (ESP)
SK Rapid Wien (AUT)            Anji Makhachkala (RUS)
Fiorentina (ITA)               SV Mattersburg (AUT)
Haifa Tel-Aviv (ISR)           Girondins Bordeaux (FRA)

Group K                        Group L
Zeljeznicar (BIH)              Galatasaray (TUR)
Montpellier (FRA)              Sheriff Tiraspol (MDA)
AZ Alkmaar (NED)               Young Boys Berne (SUI)
Wigan Athletic (ENG)           Atletico Madrid (ESP)