New York Red Bulls win CONCACAF Ch. Lge


New York Red Bulls have become the first non-Mexican side to win the revamped CONCACAF Champions League after repeating last week’s 1-0 victory at Los Angeles Galaxy with the same scoreline in tonight’s Second Leg in Harrison, New Jersey.

Tim Cahill scored the only goal of the game when he lost his marker on a run to the far post to slot home a cross from Thierry Henry after only nine minutes. That’s how it stayed, despite Robbie Keane and Landon Donovan going close for the visitors. Dax McCarty had a great chance to seal the victory inside the final five minutes, but Evan Bush produced a great save for Galaxy.

LA Galaxy were the last US side to win the Champions League, before its relaunch in 2008, when they beat Honduran side Deportivo Olimpia in 2000. DC United are the only previous winners from the States, having lifted the trophy in 1998.