German WC Squad: Bender Misses Out


Joachim Löw has announced his much-anticipated squad for the FIFA World Cup, cutting seven unlucky players from his preliminary 30-man squad. The biggest surprise by far is that Mesut Ozil was omitted from the squad, as was Sven Bender who didn’t make the cut.

Bayern Munich supply eight of the squad, while seven come from Borussia Dortmund. The entire squad is represented by only seven different clubs.


Marc-André ter Stegen (Mönchengladbach), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), René Adler (Hamburg).


Andreas Beck, Mats Hummels, Marcel Schmelzer (Borussia Dortmund), Jérome Boateng, Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Marcell Jansen (Hamburg), Holger Badstuber (Manchester City), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal).


Toni Kroos, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Sami Khedira, Thomas Müller (Bayern Munich), Mario Götze, Marco Reus, Ilkay Gündogan (Borussia Dortmund), André Schürrle, Lars Bender (Bayer Leverkusen).


Mario Gómez (Bayern Munich), Lukas Podolski (Arsenal), Julian Schieber (Borussia Dortmund).


The final twenty-three man squads for the FIFA World Cup have been named. Saudi Arabia has the highest number of players from their domestic league with only one squad member playing club football outside of the country. By contrast, all the members of the Swedish, Slovakian, Senegalese and Canadian squads play abroad.

Germany have the youngest squad, whilst Netherlands have the most international goals between them with 183 in total.

Borussia Dortmund will be represented by the seven players highlighted above in the German squad, plus Ivan Perisic who is in the Croatian squad. The only former Dortmund player participating at the tournament is Shinji Kagawa (Manchester United, Japan).