Surman Announces Austria U19 Squad


Gray Surman has announced his first international squad, ahead of Austria’s U19 Friendlies at home to Moldova and Malta next weekend, with the country’s media has responding warmly to the 23-man selection, saying that there were no great surprises and they look forward to seeing how he experiments with tactics and personnel.

Surman made seven changes to the most recent squad that was called-up for the 1-1 draw against France a fortnight ago, losing Jakob Hochleitner (ankle) and Marcel Probst (achilles) to injury, as well as being unable to call upon Florian Heinrich and Gerald Jüllich who received call-ups to the U21 squad.

Left-back Johann Hofer and striker Wolfgang Maak have both received their first international call-ups, and Surman indicates that he will endeavour to see as many players in action as possible during the two matches. The squad will meet-up on Tuesday in Linz.

Of the 23-man squad, 17 play their club football in Austria, with five playing in Germany, and midfielder Oliver Markoutz currently plays at Empoli (on loan from Catania) in Italy. One players has moved in the current transfer window, Sebastian Dittrich is now getting 2.Bundesliga football at Heidenheim on loan from Rapid Vienna.


GK   Lucas Bundschuh              -
GK   Bernd Eckert                 SK Rapid Wien
GK   Steffen Gutzeit              SK Rapid Wien

DR   Moritz Gimpl                 Red Bull Salzburg
DL   Johann Hofer                 FK Austria Wien
DR   Florian Madlymayr            Fortuna Köln (GER)
DL   Harald Nindl                 Red Bull Salzburg
DC   Marco Oberst                 Red Bull Salzburg
DR   Benjamin Rosenberger         Red Bull Salzburg
DR   Armin Samitsch               SK Rapid Wien
DC   René Schröder                Red Bull Salzburg
DL   Dominik Winkler              FK Austria Wien
DM   Stefan Bergmeister           Red Bull Salzburg
MC   Andreas Bogner               Red Bull Salzburg
AC   Arlind Hamzaj                Stuttgarter Kickers (GER)
AC   Jonas Littmann               SK Rapid Wien
AL   Oliver Markoutz              Empoli (ITA)
AR   Jonathan Scherzer            1860 Munich (GER)
DM   Manuel Waltl                 Red Bull Salzburg

ST   Marian Berger                FK Austria Wien
ST   Sebastian Dittrich           Heidenheim (GER)
ST   Wolfgang Maak                Red Bull Salzburg
ST   Michael Rauth                Kaiserslautern (GER)