Champions League Groups A-D, Day One


Tarik Elyounoussi hit a hat-trick for Celtic as they left White Hart Lane with all three points against big-spending Tottenham Hotspur on the opening matchday of this season’s Champions League Group Stage. An Emmanuel Adebayor brace sandwiched Elyounoussi’s three strikes, before Gareth Bale had an 83rd minute equaliser disallowed for a tight offside call.

Mainz were denied a last-minute penalty in the Bernabéu after Swiss referee Carlo Bertolini waved-away appeals when Alvaro Arbeloa appeared to trip Petar Sliskovic, with the score at 2-1 to Real Madrid. The German side were incensed at the decision, which was preceded five minutes earlier by the dismissal of midfielder Elkin Soto.

Ivica Stojic became the youngest player to play in the competition, when he came on for the final twelve minutes for Dinamo Zagreb in their 1-3 defeat at home to Fenerbahçe. Stojic is aged 16 years and 26 days-old, beating previous record holder Celestine Babayaro by 60 days when he appeared for Chelsea in 1994.

Elsewhere, AC Milan won 3-0 at Villarreal, while Bayern Munich went down 0-2 in St Petersburg to the Russian side Zenit. Belgian champions Anderlecht took the lead at home to Lyon, but lost Sacha Kljestan to a serious injury before the visitors turned it round to claim the points.

Tomorrow sees last year’s finalists both in action. Dortmund host Valencia, while Barcelona travel to Monaco, but story of the night could be at the Tallaght Stadium where Shamrock Rovers make their first appearance in the competition’s group stage with the visit of PSG.

 A                 Anderlecht  1-2  Olympique Lyonnais
 A                    Chelsea  2-0  Rapid Vienna
 B              Dinamo Zagreb  1-3  Fenerbahçe
 B        Zenit St Petersburg  2-0  Bayern Munich
 C                    Benfica  2-0  Metalist Kharkiv
 C                Real Madrid  2-1  FSV Mainz
 D          Tottenham Hotspur  2-3  Celtic
 D                 Villarreal  0-3  AC Milan

 E                 Olympiakos   -   Young Boys
 E                     Twente   -   Arsenal
 F            Shamrock Rovers   -   Paris Saint-Germain
 G          Borussia Dortmund   -   Valencia
 G               Legia Warsaw   -   Standard Liege
 H                     Monaco   -   Barcelona
 H                Rubin Kazan   -   Juventus