FIFA Announce Club World Cup Fixtures


clubworldcup-trophy70The schedule for next month’s FIFA Club World Cup has been confirmed after the conclusion of the AFC and CAF’s continental club competitions. The tournament will take place in Morocco, as it did last year, with Borussia Dortmund taking part for the first time.

Bayern Munich won last year’s competition, beating Zamalek of Egypt in the Final. The tournament hasn’t been won by clubs from the same nation in consecutive years since 2006 when Internacional followed São Paulo to success. Dortmund’s opening match will be a Semi-Final tie against the winners between New York Red Bulls and Qatari champions Al-Sadd on 18 December.

BVB’s participation has seen a number of fixtures rescheduled, most notably the swapping of the UEFA Champions League tie hosting Standard Liège (now 03 Dec) and the league game at Augsburg (now 10 Dec).

The league game against Hoffenheim has been pushed back 24 hours to 14 December, and the DFB-Pokal game against Frankfurt has been brought forward to 11 December meaning that BVB will play fixtures on consecutive nights.



Wednesday 10 December
 Playoff:                 Auckland City v. Wydad Casablanca

Friday 12 December
 Quarter Final 1            Al-Merreikh v. (Playoff Winners)

Saturday 13 December
 Quarter Final 2             Al-Sadd SC v. New York Red Bulls

Wednesday 17 December
 5th Place Playoff          (QF1 Loser) v. (QF2 Loser)
 Semi Final 1              (QF1 Winner) v. Atlético Mineiro

Thursday 18 December
 Semi Final 2              (QF2 Winner) v. Borussia Dortmund

Sunday 21 December
 3rd Place Playoff          (SF1 Loser) v. (SF2 Loser)
 Final                     (SF1 Winner) v. (SF2 Winner)

None of the seven clubs competing this year featured in the tournament last time, and none have ever won the competition. The ten previous winners have come from Brazil (4), Italy (2), Spain (2), England or Germany (1 each).