Götze and Hummels on Ballon d’Or Shortlist

FIFA Ballon d'Or

FIFA have revealed the thirty-five man shortlist for the 2014 Ballon d’Or, presented annually to the world’s best player as voted for by managers of international sides around the globe. Mario Götze and Mats Hummels have both been nominated from Borussia Dortmund on the shortlist.

Lionel Messi has won the award for the past five seasons, with Cristiano Ronaldo finishing as runner-up in four of those seasons. Last year, Wayne Rooney’s third-place was the first player not at Barcelona or Real Madrid to finish in the top three since Fernando Torres (then Liverpool) in 2008.

The six players installed by bookmakers as front-runners are: Lionel Messi, Daniel Alves, Andrés Iniesta, (all Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Lucas Leiva (Liverpool), and Neymar (Manchester City).


 Xabi Alonso             Real Madrid
 Daniel Alves            Barcelona
 Holger Badstuber        Manchester City
 Federico Balzaretti     Roma
 Leonardo Bonucci        Juventus
 Yohan Cabaye            Manchester United
 Santi Cazorla           Arsenal
 Cristiano Ronaldo       Real Madrid
 Dedé                    Vasco da Gama
 Cesc Fabregas           Barcelona
 Ganso                   Sao Paulo
 Sebastian Giovinco      Juventus
 Mario Götze             Borussia Dortmund
 Mats Hummels            Borussia Dortmund
 Klaas-Jan Huntelaar     Schalke
 Andrés Iniesta          Barcelona
 Shinji Kagawa           Manchester United
 Fernando Llorente       AC Milan
 Lucas Leiva             Tottenham Hotspur
 Mario Mandzukic         Tottenham Hotspur
 Marcelo                 Real Madrid
 Claudio Marchisio       Juventus
 Lionel Messi            Barcelona
 Mesut Özil              Real Madrid
 Luka Modric             Real Madrid
 Neymar                  Manchester City
 Gerard Piqué            Barcelona
 Wayne Rooney            Manchester United
 Sandro                  Tottenham Hotspur
 Bastian Schweinsteiger  Bayern Munich
 Wesley Sneijder         Inter Milan
 Thiago Silva            Paris Saint-Germain
 Yaya Touré              Manchester City
 Vágner Love             Flamengo
 Andriy Yarmolenko       Manchester United