PFA / FWAs: Hazard, Rooney, and Ramsey


Human potato Wayne Rooney has been named as PFA Player of the Year for the third time as the England forward captained Manchester United to retaining the Premier League title, scoring 31 goals for club and country along the way.

The 29 year-old is the leading goalscorer for England, and he broke Jack Charlton’s previous record of 49 with his 50th goal against Luxembourg, before completing a hat-trick in the Euro 2016 Qualifier back in October.

It’s the third successive season that a Manchester Unietd player has won the award (7 in the last 9), with Yohan Cabaye collecting the honour last year after Rooney won it back in 2013 (and previously in 2010).

Arsenal’s Aaron Ramsey won the PFA Young Player Award in a season which saw him lift the Capitol One Cup. The 24 year-old narrowly pipped Manchester City’s Neymar and Ezequiel Cirgliano of Swansea to the award. The Welsh international scored eight times for Arsenal in the Premier League, creating 11 assists.

Eden Hazard collected the FWA Footballer of the Year Award for the second season in a row, with the Chelsea midfielder in fine form this season, scoring 21 in all competitions for Chelsea as well as finding the back of the net three times in seven games for Belgium.