Blackpool Win Playoff Final, 2-1 v. Cardiff


In a repeat of the 2010 FL Championship Playoff Final, Blackpool were again victorious over Cardiff City at Wembley Stadium this afternoon, coming from behind to win 2-1.

Cardiff took the lead midway through the first-half when Etien Velikonja slotted home at the far post from a great cross from Andrew Keogh, and ten minutes later he should have doubled the lead having been played in by Keogh, but his shot clipped the woodwork from fifteen yards.

With just seconds remaining of the first-half, Harry Kane – on loan from Tottenham – beat Matthew Connolly to a Barry Maguire cross, clearly being tripped but as referee Neil Swarbrick waited, Kane stayed on his feet and slotted low past David Marshall to equalise.

On the hour mark, a long-throw from Liam Kelly caused havoc in the Cardiff box, and Barry Maguire squeezed a shot past Marshall at the near post for the eventual winner.

Blackpool – who finished 6th in the division, six points and one place behind Cardiff – will join Reading and Norwich in the Premier League next season.

Also celebrating today are Hansa Rostock who retained their 2.Bundesliga status in Germany for the second successive season following a 1-1 draw at Offenbach, and a 4-1 aggregate Playoff win against the side who finished third in the German third-tier.

2 thoughts on “Blackpool Win Playoff Final, 2-1 v. Cardiff

Comments are closed.