Mats Hummels: German Footballer of the Year


hummelsMats Hummels has been named the Deutschlands Fußballer des Jahres after he captained Borussia Dortmund to the domestic double, as well as lifting the FIFA Club World Cup and UEFA Super Cup over the last ten months.

The 26 year-old centre-back, capped 46 times by Germany, polled ahead of team-mate Neven Subotic in second, while Javi Martínez of Bayern Munich was third. Last season, Dortmund’s Ivan Perisic won the accolade.

klaas-jan-huntelaar-70Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke) scooped the golden boot for finishing as 1.Bundesliga’s top scorer, finding the back of the net 29 times in the league. The Dutch international also scored 12 times in cup competitions and 8 times for his country giving him a total return of 41 in 45.

Hamburg head coach Frank de Boer has won both the Manager of the Year and the Players’ Manager of the Year awards after the 45 year-old guided the club to second-place, their highest finish since 1987. Title-winning Dortmund boss Grayson Surman polled second in both awards, and Freiburg’s Christian Gross came third in both after he clinched them Europa League football next season.

Goal of the year went to Marcel Risse for his 82nd minute strike for Fortuna Düsseldorf in their 3-1 win at home to Bayern Munich in February. He put Düsseldorf back in front with a wonderful 60-yard lob past Manuel Neuer.

Goalkeeper of the Year: David Ospina (Schalke)
2nd: Diego Benaglio (Wolfsburg), 3rd: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)

Defender of the Year: Naldo (Wolfsburg)
2nd: Philipp Wollscheid (Leverkusen), 3rd: Joël Matip (Schalke)

Midfielder of the Year: Mario Götze (Dortmund)
2nd: Lewis Holtby (Schalke), Simon Rolfes (Leverkusen)

Striker of the Year: Stevan Jovetic (Dortmund)
2nd: Ádám Szalai (Mainz), 3rd: Stefan Kießling (Leverkusen)

The Bundesliga Select XI features four Dortmund players: Mats Hummels, Mario Götze, André Schürrle, Stevan Jovetic. They join goalkeeper David Ospina, Lewis Holtby, and Klaas-Jan Huntelaar of Schalke; Jerome Boateng and Philip Lahm of Bayern Munich, Wolfsburg defender Naldo, and Hamburg’s Karim Bellarabi.