World Cup Awards: Golden Boot, Best XI…

Chilean striker Diego Rubio has won the Golden Boot from this year’s FIFA World Cup ahead of Leandro Damião of Brazil and Italian Giuseppe Rossi. 25-year old Rubio – who plays for Corinthians in Brazil – scored sis goals in five matches, including a hat-trick against Ivory Coast. Damião also hit six goals but over all seven of Brazil’s matches.

Full-back Jordi Alba has won the adidas™ Golden Ball for his role in Spain’s march to the trophy. He played in all but the opening group game win over South Korea, and scored three goals including winners in knockout matches against Germany and England. Golden Boot winner Diego Rubio was voted runner-up, with Austrian left-back David Alaba third.

Spartak Moscow centre-back Christian Fernández was voted the Best Young Player, with the 20-year old impressing in his four appearances for Argentina, earning an average rating of 8.27 as well as scoring in the 3-0 win over Egypt. Iker Casillas has won his second Lev Yashin Award, with the Real Madrid and Spain goalkeeper keeping two clean sheets and conceding just five goals in Spain’s FIFA World Cup triumph.

The spectacular 50-yard lob by Oscar to open the scoring in Brazil’s 2-0 quarter-final win over Colombia has been voted Goal of the Tournament, with the game’s second goal from Rafael Tolói named as runner-up. Third went to Lucas Ocampos who scored the third in Argentina’s 3-0 win over Egypt in the group stage.

  • FIFA World Cup Russia 2018 Stats:
    • 186 Goals (137 in Group Stage)
    • 210 Yellow Cards (146)
    • 13 Red Cards (8)
    • 15 Penalties Awarded (12)
    • 9 Penalties Scored (8)
    • 3 Own Goals (1)
    • 2 Hat-Tricks (2)

Champions Spain unsurprisingly have five players named in the tournament’s Best XI, with a further three players named in the overall squad. Runners-up Italy are represented by four players, with two making the starting eleven.

  • Goalkeeper
    • Iker Casillas (Spain)
  • Defence
    • Jordi Alba (Spain), Christian Fernández (Argentina)
    • Ryan Shawcross (England), Marco Faraoni (Italy)
  • Midfield
    • Thiago (Spain), Alessandro Florenzi (Italy)
    • Rodrigo (Spain), Lionel Messi (Argentina)
  • Strikers
    • Diego Rubio (Chile)), Fernando Llorente (Spain)